Certificates of Merit

Each affiliate in good standing is invited to designate one of its members and/or a team to receive a Certificate of Merit from NEHA, thereby nationally recognizing one of their own for outstanding contributions to the environmental health profession. Each affiliate may nominate a single individual if the affiliate president is an active NEHA member. Recipients are announced during the AEC awards program and in the Journal of Environmental Health. Only a single Certificate of Merit document is given to the team (individual copies for all team members will not be awarded).

This opportunity for special recognition of your members on a national level is one of the benefits of your affiliation with NEHA.

Note: NEHA board policy states that only affiliate presidents who are active NEHA members may nominate candidates for Certificates of Merit.

The submission deadline for 2017 Certificates of Merit was June 9.


2016 Certificates of Merit Awarded


Barry Ambrose (AL)
Katie Bante (AK)
Sandy Collins (MA)
Kathy King (NE)
Candice Levenberry (Nat’l Capitol Area)
Ronald David Lund (UT)
Jason Ravenscroft (IN)
Shannon Rohr (MN)
Michelle Clausen Rosendahl (IA)
Traci Slowinski (TX and Business & Industry)
Jessica Voglewede (MI)


AL—The Daniel Foundation
FL—Host affiliate team for the NEHA 2015 AEC (Team members: Tricia Dall, Michael Crea, and Carolynn Balcar)
MA—Local Public Health Institute of Massachusetts Inspector Training, Food Certificate Program
MD, Nat’l Capitol Area, & VA—DC Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division