Become a Member of NEHA Today!

Custom Search

HOME > About NEHA > Award Information


NEHA Awards


Walter S. Mangold Award

The Walter S. Mangold Award, which was established in 1955, was first awarded to Walter Mangold in 1956 for his lifetime dedication to upgrading the professional education and performance of sanitarians; to raising the standards of the environmental health practitioner, and professionalizing the individual, throughout the country; and for innovating his many brilliant programs that helped shape the environmental health profession throughout the world. Now, more than fifty-five years later, the Mangold Award continues to recognize individuals for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the environmental health professional. All applications must be submitted by March 16, 2015.

For more information, please visit the Walter S. Mangold Award page.


Back to top

A. Harry Bliss Editor's Award

Dr. A. Harry Bliss was the Journal editor in 1969, the year this award was first presented. When he retired, the award was named after him to honor his 40 years of involvement in Journal production. The Harry Bliss Editor’s Award recognizes outstanding writers, columnists, and the award may also go to individuals who, through the Journal of Environmental Health, advance the cause and interests of the association.

For more information, please visit the A. Harry Bliss Editor's Award page.

Back to top

Certificates of Merit

Each affiliate in good standing s invited to designate one of its members to receive a Certificate of Merit from NEHA, thereby nationally recognizing one of their own for outstanding contributions to the profession of environmental health. Each affiliate may nominate a single individual if the affiliate president is an active NEHA member. Recipients are announced during the AEC awards program and in the Journal of Environmental Health. Only a single Certificate of Merit document is given to the team – individual copies will not be awarded.

This opportunity for special recognition several of your members to a national audience is one of the benefits of your affiliation with NEHA.

Please note: Board policy states that as long as the affiliate president is not an active NEHA member, the affiliate may not nominate candidates for the Certificate of Merit.

All applications must be submitted by June 15, 2015.

Application for Certificate of Merit - Single Individual

Application for Certificate of Merit - Team

Back to top

Crumbine Award

The Samuel J. Crumbine Consumer Protection Award is a prestigious award given annually to local environmental health jurisdictions that demonstrate unsurpassed achievement in providing outstanding food protection services to their communities. The purpose of the award is to encourage innovative programs and methods that reduce or eliminate the occurrence of foodborne illnesses, recognize the importance of food protection at the local level and stimulate public interest in foodservice sanitation. Often, winning programs offer "best practices" that may be used by others to advance their own food protection programs. All applications must be submitted by March 2015 (exact date to be determined).

For more information, please visit the Crumbine Award page.

Back to top

HUD Award for Healthy Homes

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, in partnership with the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA), announces the first annual Secretary’s Awards for Healthy Homes.

These awards will recognize excellence in healthy housing innovation and achievement in three categories: Public Housing/ Multifamily Supported Housing, Public Policy, and Cross Program Coordination among Health, Environment and Housing. The activities or policies nominated must show measurable benefits in the health of residents and be available to low and/or moderate income families. Applications must be submitted via email no later than 11:59:59 p.m. PT on April 30, 2015.

Please complete the application form, then email it and all other required materials as attachments to The Awards will be presented at the NEHA Annual Educational Conference & Exhibition in Orlando, FL.


Back to top


Joe Beck Educational Contribution Award

This award is available on an annual basis to recognize a NEHA member or team of NEHA members in good standing for an educational contribution designed for the advancement and professional development of environmental health professionals through instruction or development of an educational or training tool. Deadline for nominations: Monday, March 16, 2015.


Back to top


NEHA Innovation Award

This award is presented to a NEHA member, team of NEHA members, or organization for creating a new idea, practice, or product that has had a positive impact on improving the environment/public health and the quality of life. The purpose of this award is to recognize individuals or teams that have made an innovative contribution to improving the environment and/or protecting public health and to encourage other professionals to search for creative solutions. Change that promotes or improves the environment is the foundation of this award.
Deadline for nominations: Monday, March 16, 2015.

Back to top

Excellence in Sustainability Award

NEHA's Excellence in Sustainability Award recognizes any organization, business, association, individual, or NEHA member who is solving environmental challenges by using innovative and environmentally sustainable practices. All applications must be submitted by  April 30, 2015.

For more information, please visit the Excellence in Sustainability Award page.

Back to top

NEHA Past Presidents Award

Each year, NEHA’s Past Presidents get together and identify a hero for the profession who accomplishes much on behalf of environmental health but who does a lot of their work behind the scenes.

For more information, please visit the NEHA Past Presidents Award.

Back to top


NEHA / UL Sabbatical Exchange Program

Study environmental health on the international level through the NEHA / UL Sabbatical Program!

There are no borders to environmental health. What concerns one country concerns all others; what affects one people affects the world. That's why NEHA and UL are proud to present an opportunity for a NEHA member to spend a two-to-four-week sabbatical in an IFEH member country, observing, questioning and sharing environmental health practices and information.

All applications must be submitted by March 2, 2015. For more information, please visit the NEHA/UL Sabbatical Exchange Program page.

Chartered Institute of Environmental Health CIPHI

Back to top

Walter F. Snyder Award


The Walter F. Snyder Award for Achievement in Attaining Environmental Quality is presented annually by the National Environmental Health Association and NSF International. All applications must be submitted by April 30, 2015.

The Award is presented to a recipient recognized by peers for:

  • Outstanding accomplishment in the fields of health and the environment

  • Notable contributions to public health and the quality of life

  • Demonstrated capacity to work with all interests in solving environmental problems

  • Proficiency in utilizing voluntary standards to obtain environmental objectives

  • Leadership in securing action on behalf of health or environmental goals

For more information, please visit the Walter F. Snyder Award page.


Back to top



Home | Journal of Environmental Health | Research & Development Programs
Bookstore | Credentials | Continuing Education | Online Education
Position Papers | Job Center | Conferences | Events | Affiliated Organizations | EH Links

National Environmental Health Association, 720 S. Colorado Blvd., Suite 1000-N, Denver, CO 80246-1926
Phone: 303.756.9090, Fax: 303.691.9490, Email:
Copyright NEHA 2000-2014 | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy