Technical Advisors

2019–2020 Technical Advisors

Technical Advisors serve under the association’s board of directors. These advisors are subject matter experts in the following areas:

Academic Environmental Health

Carolyn Harvey, PhD, REHS/RS, DAAS
Eastern Kentucky University
E-mail: carolyn.harvey@eku.edu

Sharron LaFollette, PhD
University of Illinois, Springfield
E-mail: slafo1@uis.edu

Timothy Murphy, PhD, REHS/RS, DAAS
The University of Findlay 
E-mail: murphy@findlay.edu

Air Quality  

David Gilkey, PhD
Montana Tech University
 
Solomon Pollard, PhD
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
E-mail: solomonpollard@gmail.com

Aquatic/Recreational Health

Tracynda Davis, MPH
Davis Strategic Consulting, LLC

CDR Jasen Kunz, MPH, REHS, USPHS
National Center for Environmental Health/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
E-mail: izk0@cdc.gov

Body Art, Recreational and Biomedical Waste

Michael Crea, MS
Florida Environmental Health Association
E-mail: crea@zedgepiercing.com

Dan Harper, DrPH
Harper Global Public Health Consulting
E-mail: dan.harper@eku.edu

Cannabis

Cindy Rice, MSPH, RS, CP-FS, CEHT
Eastern Food Safety
 
Thuy Vu
Hammer Enterprises, LLC
E-mail: admin@hammerenterprisesis.com

Children's Environmental Health

DaJuane M. Harris, RS, CEHP, CPO
Florida Department of Health- Palm Beach County
E-mail: dajuane.harris@flhealth.gov

Cynthia McOliver, MPH, PhD
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency     
 
M L Tanner, HHS
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Columbia, SC
E-mail: mlacesmom@gmail.com

Climate Change 

Na'Taki Osborne Jelks, MPH, PhD
Spelman College
E-mail: nosborne@spelman.edu

Richard Valentine
Salt Lake County Health Department
E-mail: rvalentine@slco.org

Drinking Water

LCDR Katie L. Bante, MPH, REHS/RS, USPHS
U.S. Coast Guard
E-mail: k8elynne@gmail.com

Maureen Pepper
Idaho Department of Environmental Quality 
E-mail: maureen.pepper@deq.idaho.gov

Emergency Preparedness and Response

Marcy Barnett, MA, MS, REHS
California Department of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health
E-mail: marcy.barnett@cdph.ca.gov

Martin A. Kalis
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
E-mail: mkalis@cdc.gov 

Emerging General Environmental Health

Steven Konkel, PhD
University of Alaska, Anchorage
E-mail: steve.konkel@gmail.com

Dana Wise
Marion County Health Department
E-mail: dreedwise@marionhealth.org

Environmental Health Research

Larry W. Figgs, MPH, PhD, REHS/RS
Douglas County Health Department
E-mail: larry.figgs@douglascounty-ne.gov

Derek G. Shendell, MPH, PhD, AB
Associate Professor & Director of the NJ Safe Schools Program- Rutgers University School of Public Health 
E-mail: derek.g.shendell.96@alum.dartmouth.org

Environmental Justice

Gwendolyn Johnson
Coalition of Black Trade Unionists
E-mail: gwen268@verizon.net

Terrance A. Powell
E-mail: tp221234@verizon.net

Jacqueline Taylor, MPA, REHS
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health (retired) 
E-mail: bljacnam@aol.com

Food (including Safety and Defense)

John A. Marcello, CP-FS, REHS
Food and Drug Administration
E-mail: john.marcello@fda.hhs.gov

George Nakamura, MPA, REHS, CP-FS, DAAS 
Nakamura Leasing 
E-mail: gmlnaka@comcast.net

Food and Emergencies

Eric Bradley, MPH, REHS, CP-FS, DAAS
Scott County Health Department
E-mail: eric.bradley@scottcountyiowa.com
 
Michele DiMaggio, REHS 
Contra Costa Environmental Health

General Environmental Health

Norbert Campbell, PhD
University of the West Indies
E-mail: norbert.campbell02@uwimona.edu.jm

Christopher Sparks, MPH, MPA, RS
Houston Health Department 
E-mail: cesparks01@aol.com

Global Environmental Health

Jason Marion, PhD
Eastern Kentucky University
E-mail: jason.marion@eku.edu

Sylvanus Thompson, PhD, CPHI(C)
Toronto Public Health, Toronto
E-mail: sthomps@toronto.ca

Government 

Bennett Armstrong
Mayor, Town of Alexandria, TN
E-mail: cityrecorder@dtccom.net
 
Timothy Callahan
Environemtnal Health Section, Georgia Department of Public Health 
 
Garry Schneider, MPH, RS
Kennedy Space Center, FL
E-mail: garry.schneider@nasa.gov

Hazardous Materials and Toxic Substances

Ofia Hodoh, DrPH
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
E-mail: ohodoh@att.net

Clint Pinion, Jr., DrPH, RS
Eastern Kentucky University
E-mail: clint.pinion@eku.edu

Healthy Homes and Communities 

Vonia Grabeel, MPH, REHS/RS
Eastern Kentucky University
E-mail: vonia.grabeel@eku.edu

Kari Sasportas, MSW, MPH, REHS/RS
Lexington Health Department
E-mail: ksasportas@lexingtonma.gov

Industry

Stan Hazan, MPH
NSF International
E-mail: hazan@nsf.org

Traci Slowinski, REHS
Brinker International 
E-mail: traci.slowinski@brinker.com

Information and Technology

Darryl Booth, MBA
Accela
E-mail: dbooth@accela.com

Injury Prevention/Occupational Health  

Alan Dellapenna, MPH, RS, DAAS
North Carolina Division of Public Health
E-mail: alan.dellapenna@dhhs.nc.gov

Donald B. Williams, MPH, REHS, DAAS 
E-mail: desertmoons@cox.net

Institutions

Milton Morris, DrPH
Benedict College
E-mail: milton.morris@benedict.edu

Robert W. Powitz, MPH, PhD, RS, CP-FS
R.W. Powitz & Associates, PC
E-mail: powitz@sanitarian.com

Land Use Planning and Design/Built Environments

Robert Washam, MPH, RS, DAAS
E-mail: b_washam@hotmail.com

Sandra Whitehead, PhD
George Washington University
E-mail: swhitehead@gwu.edu

Leadership

Robert Custard, REHS, CP-FS 
Environmental Health Leadership Partners, LLC          
 
Wendell Moore, EdD, REHS/RS, DAAS
U.S. Office of Veterans Health Administration
E-mail: wamoore56@hotmail.com

One Health 

Henroy Scarlett, MPH, DrPH, REHS/RS
Jamaica Association of Public Health Inspectors/University of the West Indies, Mona
E-mail: henroy.scarlett@uwimona.edu.jm

Anne Marie Zimeri, PhD
University of Georgia
E-mail: zimeri@uga.edu

Onsite Wastewater

William Hayes, MPH, LEHP
Assistant Public Health Administrator- Knox County Health Department
E-mail: whayes@knoxcountyhealth.org

Sara Simmonds, MPA, REHS
Kent County Health Department
E-mail: sara.simmonds@kentcountymi.gov

Plumbing

Andrew Pappas, MPH
Indiana State Department of Health

Radiation/Radon

Robert Uhrik
South Brunswick Township Health Department

Sustainability

Viniece Jennings, PhD
Agnes Scott College
E-mail: viniece.jennings@gmail.com

John A. Steward, MPH, REHS
Georgia State University
E-mail: jsteward@gsu.edu

Uniformed Services

Welford Roberts, MS, PhD, RS, REHS/RS, DAAS        

Vector Control/Zoonotic Diseases

Mark Beavers, MS, PhD
Rollins Inc.
 
Zia Siddiqi, PhD, BCE Emeritus
Zia Siddiqi Consulting
E-mail: zsiddiqi@gmail.com

Christine Vanover, MPH, REHS
National Center for Environmental Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
E-mail: npi8@cdc.gov

Water Quality

Ntale Kajumba, MPH
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
E-mail: lion1791.nk@gmail.com

Robert G. Vincent, MPA, RS
Florida Department of Health, E.H. Water Programs 
E-mail: bob.vincent@flhealth.gov

Women's Issues

Lauren DiPrete, MPH, REHS
Southern Nevada Health District
E-mail: diprete@snhd.org

Michele Samarya-Timm, MA, HO, MCHES, REHS, CFOI, DLAAS
Somerset County Department of Health