2019 Samuel J. Crumbine Consumer Protection Award Recipient Announced

Congratulations to the Minneapolis Health Department, the 2019 Samuel J. Crumbine Consumer Protection Award recipient.NEHA is pleased to congratulate the Minneapolis Health Department in Minnesota on receiving the 2019 Samuel J. Crumbine Consumer Protection Award.

The award is named in honor of Samuel J. Crumbine, a pioneer public health officer who helped invent the fly swatter and pushed through laws banning public spitting and the common drinking cup in the state of Kansas, all of which helped control the spread of communicable diseases. The Samuel J. Crumbine Award has been given in recognition of “excellence and continual improvement in a comprehensive program of food protection at the local level” for over sixty years.

NEHA is one of the eleven sponsors of the award. The other sponsors are: American Academy of Sanitarians, American Public Health Association, Association of Food & Drug Officials, Conference for Food Protection, Food Marketing Institute, Foodservice Packaging Institute, International Association for Food Protection, National Association of County and City Health Officials, National Restaurant Association, and Underwriters Laboratories.

Official Press Release (PDF)

Winning Entry


Release Date: 
Thursday, June 6, 2019