NEHA Announces Two Food Safety Auditor Credentials

NEHA News Release


Release Date: 
September 27, 2017


DENVER – The National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) is proud to announce two new food safety auditor credentials – the Certified in Food Safety Supplier Audits (CFSSA) and Registered Food Safety Auditor (RFSA). The CFSSA credential will prepare individuals to complete 1st and 2nd party, and food safety supply chain audits. RFSA credential holders will be prepared to also complete 3rd party food safety audits. These two credentials are aimed at building an international workforce of individuals who have been vetted and are qualified to meet food safety auditing requirements, such as those mandated by the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA).

NEHA, through a cooperative agreement with the FDA and with the assistance of Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) from around the globe, began several years ago to develop a job task analysis, a defensible assessment, and a credential for the food safety auditor.  This was to ensure that the individuals have the training, background, and expertise to act in a role that can often be the last line of food safety defense before the product is on its way to the consumer.  The credentials were also designed to build workforce capacity by giving individuals a pathway of experience to meet upcoming food safety requirements that are being mandated by legislation around the globe.  

Food Safety Magazine published two articles, NEHA Credential Creates a Professional Pathway for Food Safety Auditors and New Food Safety Auditing Credentials, that outlined the work that went into creating these influential credentials. The CFSSA credential, with food sector specific auditing experience, can lead to the RFSA credential for those who wish to become 3rd party auditors.

The CFSSA exam consists of 150 questions covering four main content areas below.

  1. Planning Food Safety Audits
  2. Conducting an Audit
  3. Verifying Food Safety Programs
  4. Verifying Prerequisite Programs

More information on the eligibility requirements, application fees, and recommended study references for the CFSSA and RFSA may be found here.

About the National Environmental Health Association

The National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) is professional society with more than 5,000 members in the public and private sectors as well as in universities and uniformed services. NEHA's mission, "To advance the environmental health professional for the purpose of providing a healthful environment for all" is fulfilled in the products and services offered by NEHA to advance the environmental health professional through credentialing, training, education, networking, professional development, and policy involvement opportunities. Learn more about NEHA at