Technical Advisors

2018–2019 Technical Advisors

Technical Advisors serve under the association’s board of directors. These advisors are subject matter experts in the following areas:

Air Quality  

David Gilkey, PhD
Montana Tech University

Aquatic Health/Recreational Health

CDR Jasen Kunz, MPH, REHS, USPHS
National Center for Environmental Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
E-mail: izk0@cdc.gov

Cannabis

Cindy Rice, MSPH, RS, CP-FS, CEHT
Eastern Food Safety

Children's Environmental Health

Cynthia McOliver, MPH, PhD
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency     

Climate Change 

Richard Valentine
Salt Lake County Health Department
E-mail: rvalentine@slco.org

Drinking Water

Craig Gilbertson
Minnesota Department of Health
E-mail: craig.gilbertson@state.mn.us

Emergency Preparedness and Response

Marcy Barnett, MA, MS, REHS
California Department of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health
E-mail: marcy.barnett@cdph.ca.gov

Martin A. Kalis
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
E-mail: mkalis@cdc.gov 

Emerging General Environmental Health

Tara Gurge 
Needham Health Department 
E-mail: tgurge@needhamma.gov

Food (including Safety and Defense)

Eric Bradley, MPH, REHS, CP-FS, DAAS
Scott County Health Department
E-mail: Eric.Bradley@scottcountyiowa.com

John A. Marcello, CP-FS, REHS
Food and Drug Administration
E-mail: john.marcello@fda.hhs.gov

Food and Emergencies

Michele DiMaggio, REHS 
Contra Costa Environmental Health

General Environmental Health

Timothy Murphy, PhD, REHS/RS, DAAS
The University of Findlay
E-mail: murphy@findlay.edu

Global Environmental Health

Crispin Pierce, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
E-mail: piercech@uwec.edu

Sylvanus Thompson, PhD, CPHI(C)
Toronto Public Health, Toronto
E-mail: sthomps@toronto.ca

Government Representative

Timothy Callahan
Georgia Department of Public Health

Industry

Nicole Grisham
University of Colorado
E-mail: nicole.grisham@colorado.edu

Information and Technology

Darryl Booth, MPA
Accela
E-mail: dbooth@accela.com

Injury Prevention 

Alan Dellapenna, RS
North Carolina Division of Public Health
E-mail: alan.dellapenna@dhhs.nc.gov

Institutions

Robert W. Powitz, MPH, PhD, RS, CP-FS
R.W. Powitz & Associates, PC
E-mail: powitz@sanitarian.com

Land Use Planning and Design/Built Environments

Kari Sasportas, MSW, MPH, REHS/RS
Cambridge Public Health Department
E-mail: ksasportas@challiance.org

Robert Washam, MPH, RS
E-mail: b_washam@hotmail.com

Leadership

Robert Custard, REHS, CP-FS 
Environmental Health Leadership Partners, LLC          

Onsite Wastewater

Sara Simmonds
Kent County Health Department
E-mail: sara.simmonds@kentcountymi.gov

Premise Plumbing

Andrew Pappas, MPH
Indiana State Department of Health

Uniformed Services

Welford Roberts, MS, PhD, RS, REHS, DAAS 
Edaptive Computing, Inc.         

Vector Control/Zoonotic Diseases

Christine Vanover, MPH, REHS
National Center for Environmental Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
E-mail: npi8@cdc.gov

Tyler Zerwekh, MPH, DrPH, REHS
Shelby County Health Department
E-mail: tyler.zerwekh@shelbycountytn.gov

Water Quality

Maureen Pepper
Drinking Water Program, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality
E-mail: maureen.pepper@deq.idaho.gov

Women's Issues

Michele Samarya-Timm, MA, HO, MCHES, REHS, DLAAS
Somerset County Department of Health