General Election Results: 2017

Elections are a critical part of the democratic process and are one way that provides members a voice in the running of their organization. NEHA voting members have an opportunity to vote for candidates of contested board of directors and regional vice-president positions, as well as cast votes regarding proposed Articles of Incorporation and Bylaw changes. National officers of NEHA's board of directors serve a one-year term in each officer position (second vice-president, first vice-president, president-elect, president, and immediate past-president) for a total of five years. Regional vice-presidents serve three-year terms.  

For more information about NEHA elections and the critical deadlines for nomination forms, eligibility dates to become a NEHA voting member, and ballot dates, please visit the election page.

The 2017 NEHA general election results are as follows:


Second Vice-President

There were two qualified candidates for the second vice-president position: Stan Hazan and Sandra Long. You can view their candidate profiles published in the March 2017 Journal of Environmental Health.

Voters elected Sandra Long, REHS, RS, as NEHA's second vice-president. Long will assume this position at the close of NEHA's 2017 Annual Educational Conference (AEC) & Exhibition in Grand Rapids, Michigan, in July 2017.

Photo of Sandra Long


Regional Vice-Presidents (RVPs)

NEHA's membership is broken down into nine regions that represent U.S. geographic areas, as well as members in the U.S. military and aboad. The terms of three RVP positions expired in 2017: 1) Ned Therien, Region 1; 2) Sandra Long, Region 5; and 3) Tim Hatch, Region 7.

No eligible candidates for Regions 1 and 5 were confirmed prior to the election. Per board policy, these positions were filled by vote of the board. The list of candidates was based upon individuals who had indicated interest in response to e-mail outreach sent to members in those regions. There were two candidates for the Region 7 vacancy and NEHA members residing in Region 7 were able to vote for the candidates via the election ballot.

The elected individuals will assume their positions at the close of the 2017 AEC and their terms will expire in 2020.

  • Region 1: Matthew Reighter, MPH, REHS, CP-FS, Washington (Region 1 includes Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington)

  • Region 5: Tom Vyles, REHS/RS, CP-FS, Texas (Region 5 includes Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas)

  • Region 7: Tim Mitchell, REHS, CP-FS, Florida (Region 7 includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee)


 Photo of Matthew Reighter     Photo of Tom Vyles     Photo of Tim Mitchell