NEHA Climate Change Committee

NEHA Climate Change Committee

The Climate Change Committee Mission: To be a resource in addressing the environmental and public health impacts from climate change. The Climate Change Committee Goals:

1. Ensure NEHA members have basic climate science information

2. Develop, share, review, and disseminate resources on climate change policies, programs, and best practices to support NEHA, EH professionals, and the public

3. Identify and recommend the needs of the profession, training gaps, challenges, and emerging issues

4. Guide and provide input on NEHA’s climate change programs and projects


NEHA Climate Change Committee Members

Richard Valentine
NEHA Climate Change Technical Advisor and Committee Chair,

Director, Air Quality Bureau
Salt Lake County Health Dept.
Salt Lake City, UT

Felix I. Zemel, MCP, MPH, DrPH(c), CBO, RS, DAAS
Committee Co-Chair

Pracademic Solutions
Needham, MA

Natalie Brown, MPH
Project Coordinator
NEHA, Program & Partnership Development
Washington, DC

Christine Ortiz Gumina, MPH
Project Coordinator
NEHA, Program and Partnership Development
Washington, DC

Tania M. Busch Isaksen, REHS, PhD, MPH
Lecturer, Dept. Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
University of Washington, School of Public Health
Seattle, WA

Kathleen Johnson, MPH
Senior Program Coordinator
Public Health Division, Environmental Health
Washington County Dept. of Health and Human Services
Hillsboro, OR

R. Steven Konkel, PhD, MCP, AICP, FRIPH
Principal, Konkel & Associates
Professor, Sr. Research Fellow, Visiting Assoc. Professor
University of Alaska, College of Business and Public Policy
Anchorage, AK

Niki Lemin, MS, RS/REHS, MEP
Director of Environmental Health
Assistant Health Commissioner
Franklin County Public Health
Columbus, OH

Jennie W. McAdams, MPH
Health Promotion & Community Engagement Supervisor
Franklin County Public Health
Columbus, OH

Kari Sasportas, MSW, MPH, REHS/RS
Manager, Community Resilience and Preparedness
Cambridge Public Health Department
Cambridge, MA

Leon F. Vinci, DHA, MPH, RS
Founder & CEO
Health Promotion Consultants
Roanoke, VA

EH Topics: