World Food Safety Day 2021

Event Date: 
Sunday, June 6, 2021 to Monday, June 7, 2021
Time Zone: 
Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Event Type: 
NEHA Event

Environmental Health Australia and National Environmental Health Association Celebrate World Food Safety Day

“The goal of World Food Safety Day is to encourage actions to reduce, prevent, and protect against foodborne diseases. This year’s theme, ‘Safe food today for a healthy tomorrow’, emphasizes that production and consumption of safe food has long term effects on our lives, and the economy. Everyone has a role to play, from farm to fork, to ensure the food we consume is safe. The National Environmental Health Association is pleased to be part of this effort and recognizes the work of our members in food safety."

Sandra Long, REHS, RS 
President, National Environmental Health Association

World Food Safety Day promotional graphic containing the WFSD logo and an overview of the event.

Have you ever wondered what food safety looks like in other countries? This World Food Safety Day, Environmental Health Australia (EHA) and the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) have teamed up to explore how regulators keep retail food safe all across the globe. This 24-hour event will feature an opening address by Frank Yiannas, Deputy Commissioner for Food Policy and Response at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, followed by a series of short conversations with food safety regulators from all around the world, offering a peek into how we are keeping retail food safe for the global community.

This worldwide event will begin the morning of Monday, June 7 in Brisbane, Queensland, AUS (which is the night of Sunday, June 6 in the U.S.) with our opening address. Throughout the day, our partners at EHA will speak with regulators from a variety of countries in the eastern hemisphere in a series of live discussions on their Facebook page. Then, NEHA will continue the conversation with regulators from all over the western hemisphere on our Facebook page.

We encourage you to drop by for one or all of these conversations throughout the day. Recordings from both the EHA-hosted chats and NEHA-hosted chats will be available on both organizations’ Facebook pages to watch if you miss them the first time.

Keep an eye on our social media to stay up to date on the latest information.

 

Schedule of Events

Times listed in Eastern Daylight Time and Australian Eastern Standard Time

EHA-Hosted Discussions: https://www.facebook.com/EnvHealthAu/
Sunday, June 6 EDT / Monday, June 7 AEST
Time Speaker Country
8:00 pm EDT / 10:00 am AEST

Opening Remarks: Frank Yiannas, Deputy Commissioner for Food Policy and Response

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

United States
10:00 pm EDT / 12:00 pm AEST

Kamran Khodaverdi, Senior Environmental Health Officer

Shoalhaven City Council

Australia
Speaking about time in Iran
12:00 am EDT (June 7) / 2:00 pm AEST

James Teio, Program Officer, Food Safety and Quarantine

Environmental Health Branch, National Department of Health

Papua New Guinea
2:00 am EDT (June 7) / 4:00 pm AEST

Lydia Buchtmann, Former Manager Media and Stakeholder Relations

Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Section, Food Standards Australia New Zealand

Australia

 

NEHA-Hosted Discussions: https://www.facebook.com/NEHA.org
Monday, June 7 EDT / Tuesday, June 8 AEST
Time Speaker Country
10:15 am EDT / 12:15 am AEST

Dr. Hussein Mansour, Chairman

National Food Safety Authority in Egypt

Egypt
2:15 pm EDT / 4:15 am AEST

Jessica Collado, Environmental Health Specialist

Contra Costa County Environmental Health Division, California

United States
4:15 pm EDT / 6:15 am AEST

Linnees Green-Baker, Chief Public Health Inspector

Clarendon Health Department

Jamaica
Contact Name: 
Terryn Laird
Organization: 
NEHA
Phone: 
(303) 802-2159
Email: 
tlaird@neha.org