• Home
  • CP-FS Credential Exam Content & Scores

CP-FS Credential Exam Content & Scores

The CP-FS exam consists of:
  • 140 questions; 120 are scored and 20 are unscored pilot questions
  • Candidates have two hours and 30 minutes to complete the exam
Review the exam outline of the seven content areas included in the exam and the percentage allotted to each area.

CP-FS Exam Content

CP-FS Exam Scores

  • The NEHA CP-FS exam reports scores ranging from 0 - 900 with a scaled passing score of 650.
  • Scores are based on the number of questions answered correctly.
  • Exam results are mailed to the candidate within four to six weeks after the exam.
  • Those who pass the exam will receive a certificate, wallet card, and continuing education information.
  • Those who fail the exam will receive a score letter and a retake application. Candidates must wait at least 90 days from the initial test date before retaking the exam.
    • To retake the exam, submit the Retake Application and pay the Exam Fee and Computer Test Fee, if taking the exam at a Pearson VUE’s testing location.
    • The application and transcripts do not need to be submitted again.
    • The exam can be taken as many times as needed but candidates must wait at least 90 days before retaking the exam.

About Exam Scores

  • The raw passing score is mathematically transformed so that the passing scaled score equals 650. The scaling process is similar to the adjustment for Celsius and Fahrenheit temperature scales. While the values may differ, the temperatures are the same (e.g., water boils at the same temperature regardless of the scale used).
  • A scaled score is not a percentage score but a transformation of a raw score. Scaling is done to report comparable results when forms and raw passing scores vary over time.

Study References

Review the following study references recommended to assist the candidate in preparing for the CP-FS® examination. 

Additional References

  1. FDA: Federal Drug Administration 2009 Food Code
  2. FDA: Federal Drug Administration 2013 Food Code
  3. FDA: Code of Federal Regulations Title 21
  4. Modern Food Microbiology (Seventh Edition), 2005, J. M. Jay, M. J. Loessner, and D.A. Golden
  5. FDA: Bioterrorism Act of 2002
  6. FDA: CARVER + Shock: Enhancing Food Defense
  7. CDC: Emerging Infectious Diseases (Volume 18, Number 3), 2012.
  8. FDA: Food Establishment Plan Review Guide
  9. CIFOR: Guidelines for Foodborne Disease Outbreak Response
  10. Conference for Food Protection: Emergency Action Plan for Retail Food Establishments
  11. FDA: Investigations Operations Manual 2012
  12. Essentials of Food Safety and Sanitation, 4th Edition, 2005. D. McSwane, N. Rue, and R. Linton
  13. FDA: Guidance for Industry: Retail Food Stores and Food Service Establishments
  14. FDA: Managing Food Safety: A Regulator’s Manual For Applying HACCP Principles to Risk-based Retail and Food Service Inspections and Evaluating Voluntary Food Safety Management Systems
  15. Environmental Engineering, 6th Edition, 2009. J.A. Salvato, N. Nemerow, F. Agardy
  16. FDA: Reportable Food Registry for Industry
  17. Principles of Food Sanitation, 5th Edition, 2006, N.G. Marriott and R.B. Gravani
  18. FDA: Voluntary National Retail Food Regulatory Program Standards
  19. FEMA: Incident Command System Overview
  20. FDA: Food and Drug Administration Amendments Act (FDAAA) of 2007
  21. FDA: Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA)
  22. FDA: Guide to Traceback of Fresh Fruit and Vegetables Implicated in Epidemiological Investigations
  23. IUFoST: Scientific Information Bulletin (SIB): Food Traceability, 2012
  24. FDA: HACCP Principles & Application Guidelines
  25. FEMA: National Incident Management System
  26. The HACCP Food Safety Manual, 1995, Joan K. Loken
  27. Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 18th Edition, 2004. APHA, Ed. By David Heymann, M

Learn More