Governance

Our association is governed by a 14-member Board of Directors that is chaired by the president of our association. The executive director serves as a nonvoting ex-officio member of the board. We have five national officers who serve on the executive committee of our association.

Serving under our Board of Directors is an array of various administrative and functional committees. Members can participate on our committees or serve as technical advisors for a wide variety of environmental health topics.

Nominations are open through December 1, 2024 for Board of Director positions. Learn more about the commitment and the nomination process for serving on our national board.

Elected Positions

Second Vice-President

The second vice-president is an officer on the Board of Directors and a member of our Affiliate Council. This individual serves for 5 years and moves in succession through the national officer positions (second vice-president, first vice-president, president-elect, president, and immediate-past president).

Regional Vice-President

Regional vice-presidents (RVPs) are members of the Board of Directors and members of our Affiliate Council. RVPs serve 3-year terms and represent the members in their regions.

Learn more about our election process.

Executive Committee

President


Tom Butts, MSc, REHS
tbutts@neha.org
Term: 2023-2024

President-Elect


CDR Anna Khan, MA, REHS/RS
akhan@neha.org
Term: 2023-2024

First Vice-President


Larry Ramdin, MPH, MA, REHS/RS, CP-FS, HHS, CHO
lramdin@neha.org
Term: 2023-2024

Second Vice-President


Scott E. Holmes, MS, REHS
sholmes@neha.org
Term: 2023-2024

Immediate Past-President


D. Gary Brown, DrPH, CIH, RS, DAAS
gary.brown@eku.edu
Term: 2023-2024

Regional Vice Presidents

There are nine regional vice-presidents (RVPs) who each represent the different regions of the U.S. and members who reside outside of the U.S..

Region 1

Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington


William B. Emminger, Jr., REHS, CPM
bemminger@neha.org
Term: 2023-2026

Region 2

Arizona, California, Hawaii, and Nevada


Michele DiMaggio, REHS
mdimaggio@neha.org
Term: 2021-2024

Region 3

Colorado, Montana, Utah, Wyoming, and members residing outside of the U.S. (except members of the U.S. uniformed services).


Rachelle Blackham, MPH, REHS
rblackham@neha.org
Term: 2021-2024

Region 4

Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin


Kim Carlton, MPH, REHS/RS
kcarlton@neha.org
Term: 2022-2025

Region 5

Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas


Jaime Estes, MS, CP-FS, PCQI
jestes@neha.org
Term: 2023-2026

Region 6

Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, and Ohio


Niki Lemin, MEP, RS/REHS
nlemin@neha.org
Term: 2022-2025

Region 7

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee


M.L. Tanner
mtanner@neha.org
Term: 2023-2026

Region 8

Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington, DC, West Virginia, and all NEHA members of the U.S. uniformed services residing outside of the U.S.


CDR James Speckhart, MS, REHS, USPHS
jspeckhart@neha.org
Term: 2021-2024

Region 9

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont


Robert Uhrik, REHS
ruhrik@neha.org
Term: 2022-2025

2023–2024 Technical Advisors

Technical advisors serve under our Board of Directors. These advisors are subject matter experts in the following areas:

Climate and Health

Data & Technology

Emergency Preparedness

Focused Populations

Food Safety

General Environmental Health

Healthy Communities

Infectious & Vectorborne Diseases

Water Quality

Workforce & Leadership

Learn More

  • Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws | PDF
  • Election Process | Webpage